Michigan Association of School Administrators

Service | Leadership | Collaboration | Excellence

Michigan Superintendent of the Year

2017 Michigan Superintendent of the Year:
Dr. Rob Glass, Bloomfield Hills Schools

MASA has presented the award of 2017 Michigan Superintendent of the Year to Bloomfield Hills Schools Superintendent Dr. Robert J. Glass

"Dr. Glass has shown true leadership for Bloomfield Hills Schools, and I am proud to present him with the Superintendent of the Year Award for 2017," said Chris Wigent, executive director of the Michigan Association of School Administrators. "Rob has focused on bringing the community together and providing strong academic programs for the students of his district. He is a tireless fighter for Bloomfield Hills, and it shows in the success that the district has seen under his guidance."

The Superintendent of the Year Award is presented by MASA to a member who has shown tremendous effort and dedication to enriching the lives of children and the community as a whole. Dr. Glass’ nomination for the award states:

"On behalf of the students and staff of Bloomfield Hills Schools, we respectfully nominate Dr. Robert J. Glass for Superintendent of the Year. As reported by those that work for him, Rob is a Superintendent of the Year because he is 'genuine,' 'displays empathy,' 'cares for all in the school community' and has 'the energy' to accomplish his vision for student success. Driven by student equity and accomplishment, it is 'Rob's persistence in articulating and providing leadership for transformative instructional practices and relationship building through strategic and thorough communication that is the hallmark of his nomination,' says Ingrid Day, President of the Bloomfield Hills School Board."

Dr. Glass joined Bloomfield Hills Schools in 2010, after serving as superintendent of Dexter Community Schools. Before that, he was executive director of instruction for Birmingham Public Schools and principal at Quarton School in Birmingham. He worked as an elementary principal in Suttons Bay and Vestaburg Community Schools, as well as an elementary teacher in Hale. Dr. Glass began his teaching career as principal and teacher at Calvary Christian School and director of the Royal Oak Child Care Center in Royal Oak, following five years in Birmingham managing the district's production studio.

About the program 

The MASA Michigan Superintendent of the Year Award is presented to an individual who has shown tremendous effort and dedication to enriching the lives of children and the community as a whole. This individual will be recognized for strong leadership, creativity in successfully meeting the needs of students, communication skills, professionalism, community involvement and the success of students that has taken place during tenure in their district. 


Past Winners

Michigan Superintendents of the Year

2016: Dr. Michael Rice, Kalamazoo Public Schools, (read more)
2015: Yvonne Caamal Canul, Lansing School District,
(read more)
2014: Brian J. Whiston, Dearborn Public Schools (read more) 
2013: Dr. Wanda Cook-Robinson, Southfield Public Schools
(read more)
2012: Dr. Tina Kerr, Coldwater Community Schools (read more)
2011: Brian Davis, Holland Public Schools (read more)
2010: Dave Campbell, Olivet Community Schools (read more)
2009: Roxanne DeWeerd, Hudsonville Public Schools
2008: Thomas Maridada II, Inkster Public Schools
2007: Robert M. Olsen, Sturgis Public Schools
2006: Paula M. Dawning, Benton Harbor Area Schools
2005: Joan Sergent, Utica Community Schools