Michigan Association of School Administrators

Your Success. Our Passion.

Winners' Circle


Winners' Circle Past Recipients46.5 KB

The goal of the Winners’ Circle is to give recognition to members whose leadership has launched or adapted an effective program or practice, that achieves results, and that could be replicated in other districts. Consider these programs for implementation in your own district and feel free to contact awardees or MASA for more information or assistance.

2014 Nominations

MASA accepts Winners' Circle nominations year-round. For recognition January 2015, nominations are due November 21, 2014. Please complete and submit a nomination form.

2014 Winners

Read details about each program in our Press-Page for media release


2013 Winners

  • End-of-Semester Intercession
    - Anthony Habra, Rudyard Area Schools; with principal Mark Pavloski and teachers Mike DeYoung and Steve Wilson, along with grade 6-12 staff
  • Lancer Leap
    - Lynn Aldrich Spearing, Ellsworth Community Schools
  • Cookin' Club
    - Nathan Robrahn, Montague Area Public Schools; With middle school principal Curt Hansen and community member Dave Pckard
  • Area 51
    - Patricia Walstra, Orchard View Schools; With OVMS Principal Jim Nielsen, Dean of Students/Instruction Kelli Arnold-Wegner, OVMS Counselor  Laura Wiles, and teachers Shelly Dorm and Ryan Wilson
  • Fusion Reading
    - Brian Davis, Holland Public Schools; With Director of Student Services Janette Cochran and teachers Michelle Arterburn and Susanne VanDrunen
  • Technology Integration Project
    - Brian Davis, Holland Public Schools; With Project-Based Learning Coach Phil Schlemmer and Technology Integration Specialist David Bast
  • Positive Psycology
    - Susan Wakefield, Plainwell Community Schools
  • Kindness Journal
    - David L. Sipka, Muskegon Area Intermediate School District
  • Great Start Safe Sleep Initiative
    - Jeff Mills, Van Buren Intermediate School District; With Bonita Suter, Early On Facilitator
  • Opportunity School
    - Dr. Randy Davis, Marshall Public Schools; With counselor Kathy Doud  and Bob Vaught, Director of the Marshall Alternative High School
  • Project Connect
    - Jeff Mills / Margie Murphy, Van Buren Intermediate School District With Margie Murphy, Supervisor of Early Education
  • K12 Alternative Energy Curriculum
    - Keith Wunderlich, New Haven Community Schools; With New Haven High School principal Carl Wagner, Endeavour Middle School principal David Rayes, and New Haven Elementary principal Gary Mrak
  • Fifth Core
    - Dr. William Skilling, Oxford Community Schools
  • Response to Bullying
    - Mr. Brian Whiston, Dearborn Public Schools; With Dr. Gail Shenkman, Associate Superintendent Secondary Education
  • Multi-tiered system of support
    - Michael Moreno, Waverly Community Schools; With teachers Nathan Stevenson, Nathan Jarvie, and David Pike

Honorable Mention:

  • Van Buren Public Transit use by special education students
    - Jeff Mills, Van Buren Intermediate School District; With VBISD Principal Ellen Winter, VBISD Program Assistant Carey Felt, Van Buren Public Transit Director Tony Dacoba, VBPT Dispatch Supervisor Laurie Schlipp, VBPT Driver Supervisor Jeff Radtke, and VBPT Lead Dispatcher Kim Parsell

2012 Winners

Honorable Mentions

 2011 Winners

Honorable Mentions
  • Gilmore Car Museum Program for At-risk High School Students
    - Jeff Jennette, Barry ISD
  • Food for Friends PRogram
    - Jeff Mills, Van Buren ISD 

2010 Winners

  • M.E.R.I.T.(Meaningful Education Rooted In Transition)Program
    - Tom TenBrink, Jenison Public Schools
  • Mentoring Program
    - Barbara A. Goebel, Flushing Community Schools 
  • Algebra II in the Workplace
    - William Pearson, South Lyon Community Schools
  • Integrated Enrichment/SpecialsThrough Blended Curriculums Assessment
    - Christine Beardsley, Oscoda Area Schools
  • Integrating Lessons on Honeybees and Beekeeping
    - Mike Wallace, St. Charles Community Schools 
  • Reading Workshop: 1st-3rd Grade
    - Tom Livezey, Oakridge Public Schools
  • Resources for Authentic Learning in Science (REAL Science)
    - Dr. Susan Meston, Muskegon Area Intermediate School District
  • 21st Century Learning Symposium
    - Dan DeGrow, St. Clair County RESA
  • Virtual Learning Academy of St. Clair County
    - Dan DeGrow, St. Clair County RESA
Honorable Mentions
  • Avondale High School Academic Center (AC)
    - Dr. George Heitsch, Avondale School District
  • Leslie ASPIRE Scholarship Program
    - Corey Netzley, Leslie Public Schools
  • Homelessness Project: Early Childhood Careers and Education High School Students
    - Jeff Mills, Van Buren Intermediate School District
  • Healthy Living Rewards System
    - Jeff Mills, Van Buren Intermediate School District

1989 - 2009 Winners